Heilige Liebster!

One of the subjects that has always fascinated me is language. Even when I was small and living in Cincinnati (where I had absolutely no exposure to any other tongues besides English), I wanted to learn French. I was lucky to come from parents who were inquisitive themselves so they let me take lessons from a college student one summer between 1st and 2nd grade. It was great and it grounded me for a life-long interest in linguistics. (American parents out there who have an opportunity to let your own children start learning language at an early age, I highly recommend it!)

Over the years, I have dabbled in French, German, Spanish, Italian, Swahili, Tagalog and a few others. I can’t say that I am fluent in anything other than English but I know enough to get around. I won’t starve. I can ask for a hotel room.  I won’t get lost for lack of being able to ask for directions.

liebsterawardsSo when I saw that Musings and Adventures had nominated me for a Liebster, I had to chuckle. I knew that Liebster was German for ‘sweet heart’ or ‘darling’ and I knew Christi certainly didn’t think of me in that way! In fact, the last time I had heard that word was when I was working in Munich and one of the guys in the computer room called me his ‘little liebster’. I was young and single. He was cute and single. I didn’t mind one bit! 😉

This recent Liebster though….well…I haven’t quite decided if it is a good thing or not. The Liebster in the blogging world is sort of a chain letter whereby a blogger nominates other bloggers for the Liebster and then they have to pass it on or else break the chain. The blogger asks 11 questions that the recipient answers in their own blog before asking 11 new questions of the bloggers that they nominate. The nice thing about it is it gets bloggers talking to bloggers and that’s a good thing. The not-so-nice is that it is a chain.

Anyhow, I decided to play along. Here are the answers to the questions that were sent to me:

  1. What was the last cd you listened to? Chilled out to Steely Dan’s ‘Aja’ album on a drive to Santa Cruz.
  2. What is your favorite thing to do? I am not a person of favorites. I like variety and their are LOTS of things I like to do – hike, bike, photography, ceramics, travel, cook, wine & dine, learn, computer gaming, volleyball, garden…the list goes on.
  3. If you could go anywhere in the world, where would it be? I’ve been to all seven continents and hundreds of countries thanks to a former international job and a lot of personal wanderlust. I don’t really care where as long as I get to go!
  4. If you could travel back in time, when and where would you go? That’s a toughie. I really like living in the present and think the opportunities in the world today are better than they have ever been. I would be interested in seeing some destinations like Hawaii and a few others before they were built up to handle all the tourists that go there today.
  5. If you could do something over again, what would it be? There are a couple of vacations I have taken that I would like to do again so that my husband can share in the same experience. One big one would be to go back to Africa for a photo safari.
  6. What is your favorite band/cd? Again, not a girl of favorites but I do find that I like a lot of bands that start with the letter S – Sting, Scissor Sisters, Simply Red, Steely Dan, St Germain.
  7. What is your favorite ‘comfort’ food? Anything good. Just don’t serve me liver and onions!
  8. Coffee or tea? Don’t drink coffee. Only drink tea when I am not feeling well which isn’t very often.
  9. Which do you prefer, city or country living? Suburbs. I like to be able to get in or out of town on a whim.
  10. Favorite animal? Any of the big cats are high on the list.
  11. (and because, after I don’t know how many years, I was asked out on a date…weird!!) If you could take me anywhere, where would it be and what would we do?  Since, after I don’t know how many years, I recently rode an old-school roller coaster that was FANTASTIC, we would go to the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and ride the Giant Dipper. It is an exhilarating roller coaster from back in the day before all the safety features were incorporated that keep you tightly in your seat and, in my opinion, take away a lot of the fun. It is also a National Historic Landmark!

Here are my questions that I am sending on to: Designbycyn’s Blog,  Katherine Scrivens,  Lovingteachingspecialeducation,  Teacup Talk, Carter Gillies Pottery, Row’s Pottery Shed, The Domestic Diva, Flying High on a Dream,  redstuffdan, Foxress, and Astronautism.

  1. What language do you find to be the most romantic?
  2. Where is the last place you went on vacation?
  3. Where are you in the family birth order? Oldest, youngest or in the middle?
  4. Cat person or dog person?
  5. If you could invite anyone living or dead to your dinner party, who would it be and why?
  6. Carnivore or vegetarian?
  7. Do you prefer the mountains or the beaches?
  8. What is your favorite color?
  9. Do you consider yourself to be a geek? Is this a good thing?
  10. What is your go-to dish to cook for friends?
  11. Who has been the greatest influence on who you are today?

For those of you that want to play along, great. For those of you who don’t, I understand. You’ll all still be Liebsters in my book! 😉

Pinched Heart by CatTail Studio Arts

Pinched Heart by CatTail Studio Arts

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Offbeat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heilige Liebster!

  1. Pingback: Waste Not, Want Not | CatTail Creative

Leave a Reply

