Blog Inspiration

Being a person with loads of diverse interests and an insatiable thirst for more, I am always looking for the next tidbit that will spark creativity as I go about my day. This is one of the benefits I get from interacting with the blogosphere.  Just by following a few fellow bloggers, I can stimulate my soul and keep life interesting when I don’t have time to wander far from my desk.

The Drunken Cyclist often puts a smile on my face with an amusing anecdote revolving around wine with a little dose of cycling and personal insight on the side. Carter Gillies Pottery is a stop I make when I want to do a little philosophical thinking about art and life. I often find My Custard Pie interesting with stories of food and travel from other parts of the world.

There are a few friends who have started their own blogs and so they warrant a follow. K.M.Herkes is a an author friend who writes science fiction/fantasy books and blogs on Storysculpting. I used to sing in the church choir with Eileen and, yes, she really is a  Domestic Diva. In my day job, I designed the kitchen in which Pam at Paleo Table fine tunes her recipes.

Door in Damazan, France Photographed by https://redstuffdan.wordpress.com/

Door in Damazan, France Photographed by RedStuffDan

A few weeks back, I saw a post from Red Stuff Dan showing an awesomely interesting door that he photographed in Damazan, France. (Hopefully he won’t mind my sharing his work here.) A few days later, he posted a photo that showed more of the building and I was hooked.  I had to recreate this beauty in the studio!

Building in Damazan, France Photographed by RedStuffDan

Building in Damazan, France Photographed by RedStuffDan

I rolled out some sculpture clay and started at it last week. The walls and the beams were fairly easy but the roof…. Well, let’s just say I could have shingled my own home faster than it took me to make and lay those little clay roofing tiles!

Ceramic French House in the Greenware Stage by CatTail Studio Arts

Ceramic French House in the Greenware Stage by CatTail Studio Arts

Now the piece is starting to dry so I can stain it and put it in the kiln. I’ll report back when all is finished. Fingers crossed for no calamities.

In the meantime, thanks, Dan, for your always interesting photographs and today’s inspiration. And to all the bloggers whose paths I cross on the blogosphere, you may not know it but you too add some spice to my life as I go about my day. Who knows when one of your posts will inspire my next project?! Thanks for sharing and keep up the fine work! 😉

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Other Pursuits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blog Inspiration

  1. Pingback: The House That Theresa Built | Project Partners Design

  2. Pingback: The House That Theresa Built | CatTail Creative

Leave a Reply

