Waste Not, Want Not

I can’t tell you how many times I heard that cliché come out of my Mom’s mouth as I was growing up. And I am sure that she would be happy to know that all these years later, it stuck. It REALLY stuck! Try as I might at times, I can’t shake it. And, for the most part, I don’t want to. It has served me well to have learned to ‘Reduce, Reuse, Recycle’ long before it was fashionable.

When it comes to food, I read a paper issued by the Natural Resources Defense Council recently that explained how 40% of the food in the US goes to waste. I find that really hard to fathom given that I can’t remember the last time I threw out anything edible but clearly I am not the norm. (Yes, my friends and family already knew that.)

You may recall a post from a few weeks back about how we tried to catch our first catfish out of our aquaponics garden with a piece of chicken liver as bait. It failed miserably! And it left us with a container full of chicken livers that weren’t likely to work the next time we wanted to go fishing either. What to do with the livers? I certainly wasn’t going to waste them!

We tried serving a chicken liver to the feral cat who comes by for a meal from time to time. Even he turned up his nose at the offering yet polished off all the cheap kibble that was in the dish around the liver. Harrumph.

Neither Chuck nor I are fans of liver. You may recall a past post where I said I’ll eat anything as long as it’s not liver and onions. We both enjoy a good foie gras from time to time, but that is made from duck or goose liver, not chicken. And, besides, I didn’t want to take the time to try to make it.

Ultimately, I found a simple recipe for chicken liver curry that was full of spices like saffron, cardamom, curry, coriander and more. We both agreed we were willing to give that a go since the spices would probably mask the liver as would the rice that would accompany the dish. I also broke open a cheap bottle of wine to go with. I wasn’t going to open a favoured bottle to accompany this dish as I didn’t have high expectations and I also figured the sweeter taste of the Apothic Red might help the meal. It did!

The chicken livers are now gone. We didn’t waste anything. Although we don’t plan to rush back to the market for more liver, the recipe turned out to be a pretty good way to use it up. We wasted not and got a good meal from the creative use of our ‘bait’. Chuck is just glad we didn’t try to catch Mr. Catfish with worms! 😉

Chicken Liver Curry and Rice with Apothic Red; Plate by CatTail Studio Arts

Chicken Liver Curry and Rice with Apothic Red; Plate by CatTail Studio Arts

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Aquaponics, Ceramics, Drink, Entrees, Food, Gardens, Kitchens, Other Pursuits, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waste Not, Want Not

  1. Chip Johnson says:

    After working for six years at Brown’s Chicken for my first job, I did acquire a taste for chicken liver’s but they were, of course, deep fried. It took a little longer to succumb to the chicken gizzards.

    Like

Leave a Reply

