From Sandals to Ceramics

Strappy Sandals_Photo by TMSterbisSitting in the passenger seat on the way to San Jose, I was chatting with Chuck, listening to tunes and watching the world go by. At one point after making a turn, I looked down towards my feet to keep the sun out of my eyes…and it sparked a ceramics idea!

I was wearing a pair of strappy sandals and found myself taking a closer look at how they had woven the cording. Perhaps I could do the same with clay?

Weeks later, I tried it and was pleased with how it was working as greenware so I bisqued the piece. Last week, I glazed the experiment and put it in the kiln. When we opened the lid last night after firing, here is what I got….

Coil Platter Top by CatTail Studio Arts

Coil Platter by CatTail Studio Arts (Available on Etsy.com)

Underside of handles woven like my sandals

Underside of handles woven like my sandals

I was pleased! 😉

The underside of the platter shows the weaving that matches my sandals. I wonder how it would look if I wove it in reverse?

This seems to be a strappy idea I know I am going to be trying again and again!

 

 

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Other Pursuits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From Sandals to Ceramics

  1. Pingback: More Sandal Inspiration | CatTail Creative

Leave a Reply

