What a Great Way to Start the New Year!

Door in Damazan, France Photographed by https://redstuffdan.wordpress.com/

Door in Damazan, France Photographed by redstuffdan

The last post I put up for 2015 showed a ceramic French house that I created as a result of a little bit of photo inspiration I found on redstuffdan – a blog created by a husband and wife duo living in southern France. Months earlier, Dan had shared a lovely couple of shots of a doorway and structure in Damazan, France that just tickled my fancy and set me on the course of trying to craft it in ceramic.

I wrote the post for a couple of reasons. One, after the many hours (about 20) I put into creating the house, I was proud of how it turned out and wanted to share. Two, I had corresponded with Dan & Jeanine when I started the project and promised to let them know when it was finished. (And I always keep my word!) And, three, one of the challenges of writing and maintaining a blog is coming up with enough material to keep it fresh and interesting and this project seemed like a good choice.

Once I put up my post, I went back to Dan’s original post that contained the above photo and left a message with a link so they could see the final product. I never expected the heartfelt response that I would receive in return:

Hey Theresa,
Happy and healthy New Year to you and those you love. 2015 was a difficult year at times, particularly here in France. Creating our blog gave us something to share back in 2013 and redstuffdan has grown into our most pleasurable activity. 
Your superb ceramic is a very welcome gift – To inspire such an artistic response leaves us ‘gobsmacked’ – We always hope that our pictures give people as much pleasure as we get from taking them.
Your little house is the greatest honour we could wish for – Thank you both so much – perhaps 2016 won’t be so bad after all.
Fondest regards,
Dan & Jeanine

It brought a tear to my eye and a smile to my face. And, it just goes to show how much of a positive impact we can all make in this crazy, crazy world by just putting the best of ourselves out there. Happy New Year one and all! 😉

Front Door Detail of ceramic French house by T M Sterbis, CatTail Studio Arts (Available on Etsy,com)

Front Door Detail of ceramic French house by T M Sterbis, CatTail Studio Arts (Available on Etsy.com)

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Other Pursuits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

