A Customer Request – The Sleepy Kitty Bowl

One of the simple pleasures that comes from putting our ceramics online is the interesting and creative requests that come in from customers. Often we make something to satisfy a customer’s request that leads to a product that we then make available to everyone.

This is the latest story…

Back in the days when I worked in corporate, we were always touting the benefits of teamwork. Posters hung in the hallways. Inspirational photos lined the conference rooms. Leaders were rewarded for their ability to oversee high-performing teams. Employees were rewarded for their ability to be great team members.

This is a concept that I took to heart. When I started my kitchen and bath design business, I purposefully named it Project Partners Design because I wanted to highlight the fact that my firm partnered with a client on their kitchen design project rather than remodel their home solely to my liking.

Recently we experienced the benefits of teamwork at CatTail Studio Arts. A potential customer contacted us hoping to get a photo of her cat put on one of our cat dishes. I explained that there really wasn’t a great way to transfer a lasting photographic image into ceramic glaze but I was willing to take a stab at doing a black and white line drawing of her adorable kitty that I could paint onto a dish in black glaze.

2016_0003The customer sent me a photograph of her cat so I would know what she had in mind. I set about making the drawing. After scaling it up and down in size to get it just right to fit one of our cat dishes, I showed her this mock-up. She loved it and we were excited to move forward with our attempt to make the finished product.

Thanks to this customer’s  request to do a custom variation on one of our personalized cat dishes, we were able to cleverly figure out how to achieve what she wanted and add a new offering to our cat dish line on our Etsy shop in the process. A win-win!

Check it out and let us know what you think of this creative collaboration.

 

 

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Customer Requests, Four-Legged Friends, Other Pursuits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Customer Request – The Sleepy Kitty Bowl

  1. Pingback: A Customer Request – The Pickle Crock | CatTail Tales

Leave a Reply

