Making Kombucha – The Update

It has been a few weeks since I mixed together the sugar, tea, water and a bottle of store-bought kombucha to jump-start a scoby. Here is that earlier post which explains a scoby and includes the directions on how you can do the same if you like.

A Healthy Scoby on a Fresh Batch of Kombucha

A Healthy Scoby on a Fresh Batch of Kombucha

According to the source of the recipe I was using to make the first batch, ‘True Brews’ by Emma Christensen , I was supposed to check the mixture every day and start tasting it around day 7. Although I am not much of a rules follower, I did exactly that. I was expecting the first taste to be flat or vinegary or a little off because all instructions up to that point were to throw out the first batch of liquid. But, much to my surprise, the first taste was AWESOME! I was amazed at how closely my homemade kombucha tasted to that of the brand with which I started. And the effervescence was great. Just the right amount of bubbles. My scoby was barely 1/16″ thick at that point but it was already performing admirably so I bottled up seven bottles and moved on to batch two.

I made another sugar, tea and water mixture just like the first and let it cool. This time I added two cups of my homemade kombucha rather than jump-start with the store-bought variety. Again, I tucked it all away in the pantry closet and walked away for seven days. Again, the results when I tasted on day 7 were fantastic so I bottled it up and repeated the process.

By now I am on batch four, the scoby has thickened up to about 3/16″, and I am very pleased with the results. Every seven days, I refill seven bottles. I generally drink a bottle a day so this production rate is pretty close to perfect for our household! Huzzah! And SO easy!

 

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Drink, Drinks, Food, Kitchens, Offbeat, Other Beverages and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making Kombucha – The Update

  1. Pingback: A Gift From the Shepherds | CatTail Tales

Leave a Reply

