Customer Cat Tales – Winning the Lottery

One of the things we do here at CatTail Studio Arts when we have the honor of selling a new pet dish to a customer is to ask for the story behind the name and a photo of the happy recipient to add to our blog roll. It is a fun way for us to see our handiwork in use and our customers can have the pleasure of seeing their pet posted on our blog. I can’t tell you how many times we receive a photo or a story and it puts an instant smile on our faces. Through ‘Customer Cat Tales’, we share some of our favorites with you. 

cat-dishes-in-use_croppedA few weeks ago, we shipped off four bowls and a treat canister to a repeat customer who had found us online. As I was painting on each cat’s name, I started to wonder what the stories were behind their monikers. I often do that while I am working on a dish but this time I decided to ask. Here is the heartfelt and touching tale I was told…

“Sure Theresa! I would love to share!

KEMO SABE

KEMO SABE

First, Kemo Sabe…we took in Kemo when a teacher/friend begged me to take in a cat who had been abandoned by his owners. I had just lost one of my cats, so I took him. My husband and I had just seen the movie, “The Lone Ranger” with Johnny Depp. We thought this term of endearment was perfect for our new furry friend. Especially recalling the part (in the movie) when Tonto tells Lone Ranger that KemoSabe means “wrong brother”. We were pretty sure that was what my cat, Junior, thought of Kemo when we brought him home, “wrong cat”.

OPAL

OPAL

Opal was named after one of the birthstones for October. When Opal appeared at our house, she was hiding under our deck and was too afraid to come out or have contact with anyone. She was the skinniest cat I had ever seen. We began feeding her and over time, she slowly began to venture out, join us (at a distance) on the deck, to allowing us to touch her. My husband wanted to call her “Halloween Cat” but, after I looked up the birthstones for October, we agreed on Opal. It fits her…vets guess her age at about 15 years old. She now loves to snuggle and sleep with us.

PEARL

PEARL

Pearl made her arrival about two weeks after Opal. She just appeared on our deck and never left! She loves people, but does not care for cats 🙂 Her full name is “The Black Pearl”. We just call her Pearl. She loves to talk and will complain to you often if you will listen. She also loves to sit on laps, kiss faces, and watch people sleep.

WHISKERS

WHISKERS

Whiskers is our newest addition. We found her sneaking in and out of our garage. It was weeks before she let us touch her. She is young and is very nervous about new people…but she LOVES LOVES LOVES Kemo Sabe. I was supposed to give her to one of my husband’s coworkers after having her spayed, but I just couldn’t do it. She fits in nicely with the others and Kemo loves having her around to snuggle. They have become buddies.

We have not always been “cat people” – in fact, I suffered from allergies for years. But, our cats make us laugh, help us forget about a bad work day, and remind us that it is not all about us. (It’s all about them!) As my husband likes to say, ‘These cats have won the lottery!’

P.S. I still love my dishes, and I swear Opal is eating better! It is sometimes a struggle to get her to eat much, but ever since we got these bowls, she is eating almost all her food. I think it is the size and shallowness of them!”
You know?! With stories and feedback like this, it reminds me that our personalized pet bowl venture isn’t about us either. It is about our customers and their pets! Right now, I feel like I have won the lottery too! 😉

 

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Customer Cat Tales, Offbeat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

