A Customer Request – The Pickle Crock

One of the simple pleasures that comes from putting our ceramics online is the interesting and creative requests that come in from customers. Often we make something to satisfy a customer’s request that leads to a product that we then make available to everyone. One such example was our Sleepy Kitty Bowl.

This is the latest story…

Whenever I ship a package off to a customer, I wait in anticipation hoping to hear back from them to make sure everything arrived safely and that they are happy with their purchase. Back in July, we shipped three cat bowls off to a new customer. I didn’t have to wait long before this message came in:

“Hello! I just received three of your pieces today and I just love them. I can tell my cats really appreciate the structure of your cat bowls. Now it’s so much easier for them to eat all the yummy foods 🙂 Also I wanted to know if you ever have storage/pickling jars available?”

Homemade Pickles

Homemade Pickles

I replied that we had never made a pickle jar but we were interested in giving it a try. Did she have any requirements that we should know about before our first attempt?

The reply referenced “something in the pint-quart range” and included this link to a YouTube video for a series entitled ‘18th Century Cooking with Jonathon Townsend – Making Fresh Sauerkraut‘.

As you may know from some of my past posts  – For the Love of Cabbage, Want Some Sauerkraut on Your Pizza?! – I am a fan of fermented kraut so it wasn’t long before I had clicked on the link and was checking out the video. I was totally entertained by a gentleman dressed in 18th century garb talking me through the simple steps of 18th century krautmaking and somewhere around the 5:00 minute mark he got into the vessel requirements for the process.

A Customer Starts Pickles in our Hand-Made Crock

A Customer Starts Pickles in our Hand-Made Crock

Having made sauerkraut ourselves many times before, I already knew the process and requirements but the 18th century perspective was still interesting and led to my following along on many other food adventures that Jon had to offer.

Since then, we have made several lidded jars and now offer them as crocks, stash jars, coffee canisters and pet treat canisters. Our customer who inquired now has a small crock for her 21st century pickle making adventures. As it turns out, she is also a new Etsy maker at TextileEclectic. Check out her shop. Inquire about what she can make for you. Perhaps you will inspire her to add a new product to her product line as she has done for us. It all goes around!

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Customer Requests, Food, Kitchens, Offbeat, Other Pursuits and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

