Customer Cat Tales – National Oreo Cookie Day

One of the things we do here at CatTail Studio Arts when we have the honor of selling a new pet dish to a customer is to ask for the story behind the name and a photo of the happy recipient to add to our blog roll. It is a fun way for us to see our handiwork in use and our customers can have the pleasure of seeing their pet posted on our blog. I can’t tell you how many times we receive a photo or a story and it puts an instant smile on our faces. Through ‘Customer Cat Tales’, we share some of our favorites with you. 

Every year on March 6th, for whatever reason, America celebrates National Oreo Cookie Day. Whether you separate the two chocolate biscuits and lick the sweet creamy white filling first or you dip it in a glass of milk or just eat it as it comes out of the package, I am sure I don’t have to tell you that the Oreo is one of the world leaders in the global cookie market. And I am willing to bet that you know exactly what one of the cookies looks like.

My name is Oreo.

My name is Oreo.

With that little bit of background, we share with you this latest customer cat tale about Oreo.

“My son had been asking me for a kitten since he was about 6 years old. My answer was always the same, “I’ll think about it.”

Fast forward to July, 2016. My son is now almost 10 and still asking me for a cat. One evening as we’re on our way home, we drive by the San Jose Animal Care Center and decide to just stop and ‘look’.

We saw lots of cute kittens but none really caught our attention. We leave and decide to come back another day. The next day on our way home, my son asks to stop by the Care Center again. As we look around, an alert tiny black and white kitten that we missed the day before looks up at us. We decide to stay and inquire about the kitten. One and a half hours later, I’m signing paperwork and bringing our new kitten home. The look on my son’s face was pure joy!

On the drive home, my son comments, “Mom, she’s black and white like an Oreo cookie.” So I respond, “Why not name her Oreo?”

We brought Oreo home as a scrawny 12 week old kitty. She is now a healthy, loving, playful, 6 month old kitten that has brought us plenty of laughter and love with her antics. We know we rescued Oreo, but she has in turn also rescued us.”

oreo-3

As the old cookie commercial used to sing, “Oh! Oh! Oreo!”

 

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Customer Cat Tales, Food, Four-Legged Friends, Offbeat, Other Pursuits and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

