Buying on Impulse

I am generally not one who buys on impulse. Grocery store end caps and checkout line offers aren’t likely to sway me unless they happen to be offering a good deal on something I am already planning to purchase. In fact, the more something is marketed, the less likely I am to buy it. (Probably something to do with that rebel trait I have.)

For this reason, I was totally amused with myself the other day when I came home with a bottle of craft beer solely because of the label. Not that we don’t drink an occasional craft brew. We do. But nine times out of ten, it is an imperial stout and this purchase was at the other end of the spectrum; it was a Belgian white, wheat beer.

Masai Giraffe in Tarangire

Giraffe in Tarangire National Park, Tanzania

No, on this particular day, the two giraffes flanking a view of Mount Kilimanjaro is most definitely what caused me to pick up the bottle. When I spotted it, a flood of wonderful memories come rushing back from when I had gone on safari in Tanzania years ago.

The label’s subtext was just the added kicker that got the bottle out of my hand and into my shopping cart…’organic white beer brewed with coriander’. It just plain sounded interesting.

Kili Wit by Logsdon Organic Farmhouse Ales

Kili Wit by Logsdon Organic Farmhouse Ales

Fortunately, I am pleased to report that the beer turned out to be quite good. Made by Logsdon Organic Farmhouse Ales out of Oregon, the Kili Wit, as it is called, reminded me a bit of a nice sparkling wine. Most wheat beers are quite cloudy and a bit chewy but this one was light, clean and effervescent. Its straw color was reminiscent of the African plains. Either that or I was still pining for a return trip to Kilimanjaro and the savanna!

One other thing that this beer has going for it is that a portion of every sale goes to the K2 Adventures Foundation – an organization whose goal is ‘to positively affect the lives of individuals with life challenges and disabilities around the globe’.

There is no doubt I fell victim to the power of critter label marketing with this purchase but I have no regrets. The beer was good. The memories were good. The K2 cause is good. And who can argue with all of that?

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Africa, Beer, Drink, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

