Customer Cat Tales – What’s in a Name?

One of the things we do here at CatTail Studio Arts when we have the honor of selling a new pet dish to a customer is to ask for the story behind the name and a photo of the happy recipient to add to our blog roll. It is a fun way for us to see our handiwork in use and our customers can have the pleasure of seeing their pet posted on our blog. I can’t tell you how many times we receive a photo or a story and it puts an instant smile on our faces. Through ‘Customer Cat Tales’, we share some of our favorites with you. 

Some of you may recognize the title as part of Juliet’s soliloquy in the second act of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. It continues on to say ‘that which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet’. Juliet doesn’t care that Romeo comes from the house of the family rival – Montague. It doesn’t matter to her what he is called. She loves him.

Today, April 23rd, it is ‘National Talk Like Shakespeare Day‘. On this anniversary of Shakespeare’s death (April 23, 1616), people all over the US and UK are using thee and thou in their speech and working in Shakespeare quotes to their daily conversation. (Give it a try. I find it hard to maintain for very long but it does make me smile.)

What does this have to do with a cat tale you may ask?  Well, today’s Customer Cat Tale involves a cat whose name has evolved over time. She answers to everything…well, as much as a cat will answer to anything! And, in my attempt to talk like Shakespeare today, let me just add that “a cat by any other name is still as cute”. 😉

My name is ....

My name is Mystique…no, Baby…no, Dubs…no, BG. Oh, whatever!

The tale…

“I picked up my kitten when she was six months old from a friend whose cat had accidentally gotten pregnant. The friend had named her Mystique since she continued to change colors in her calico fur.

I admit to being horrible at coming up with good names but I wasn’t in love with ‘Mystique’. I try to come up with a name that fits the personality of the cat and mystique wasn’t doing it for me.

Since my new kitten was the baby of the family, I called her Baby temporarily while I waited for that golden name to make itself known. I kept trying out different names but none of them stuck. She started responding to Baby or Baby Girl (BG for short). She ended up choosing the name she WANTED to be called – Dubs – but that’s her older brother’s name so it was already taken!

To this day, if she doesn’t respond to you calling for Baby Girl, you’ll definitely get her attention by calling her Dubs or Baby Dubs but she will always be known as BG to me.” 😉

 

About CatTail Studio Arts

I am Theresa - the 'T' in CatTail Studio Arts. My husband, Chuck, is the guy behind the 'C'. Our tales cover our many interests including good food, adventurous travel, cooking, gardening, hiking, cycling, crafting ceramics, beekeeping and occasionally even cat tales!
This entry was posted in Customer Cat Tales, Four-Legged Friends, Offbeat, Other Pursuits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

